2017 Darrell Award Nominations are Closed 

The deadline for nominations for the 2017 Darrell Awards has passed and nominations are now closed. 

The Jury is busy reading and watching and critiquing the nominees. We are pushing to have a list of Finalists ready by March 1st. 

If you’ve ever won a Darrell Award or been a Finalist and you’re planning to attend Saturday of MidSouthCon 35 in late March, you’re invited to participate in the annual Darrell Awards panel. This is to spread the news about your works and to build some excitement about the Awards before they’re presented at the Banquet later that day. Please contact us at memphissf at cs dot com for details. 

Of course, if your work is chosen as a Finalist this year, we’ll contact you to let you know (if we have your contact info), as all current-year Finalists receive one free pass to MidSouthCon on Saturday and one free Banquet ticket. 

So, check back here after March 1st for the announcement of the 2017 Finalists for the Darrell Awards.


Coger Hall of Fame Winner & Darrell Awards Finalists Announced

The 2013 Darrell Awards Jury is pleased to announce that JUSTIN CRONIN has been elected to be inducted into the Dal Coger Memorial Hall of Fame for Extraordinary Contributions to Midsouth Literacy. This award is given for his novels The Passage and The Twelve, each of which have significant scenes set within the Midsouth area, specifically within Memphis, Tennessee.

For info on The Passage series, please see http://enterthepassage.com.

Mr. Cronin will be invited to attend the Awards Banquet at MidSouthCon 31 on Saturday, March 23, 2013. MidSouthCon 31 will be held Friday March 22 through Sunday March 24 at the East Memphis Hilton. Please see http://midsouthcon.org for details of the convention and to pre-register and buy a Banquet ticket.

The Dal Coger Memorial Hall of Fame is given in memory of Dalvan Coger, who was a member of First Fandom, a history professor at the University of Memphis (then Memphis State University), and served on the Board of Directors for MidSouthCon. Dal is deeply missed and this Hall of Fame is one way we honor his memory.

The Jury is further pleased to announce that the following authors have made our 2013 Finalists List for the Darrell Awards for Best Published Mid-South Science Fiction, Fantasy or Horror in Novel, Novella, Short Story AND/OR Other Media categories:

  • Dan Baker
  • Steve Bradshaw
  • Duane P. Craig
  • Aaron Christopher Drown
  • C.C. Finlay
  • Jonathan Janz (Craig Shaeffer)
  • Robert J. Krog
  • Steven Shrewsbury
  • Rachel M. Taylor
  • Frank Tuttle

If we have contact information for the Finalists, each of them will each be invited to attend the Awards Banquet, as detailed above. Some Finalists may have made the list in more than one category and/or for more than one work in a single category.

The Jury has at least one additional meeting before the convention and may give Honorable Mention recognition to authors and/or works not listed above.

Please check back here after the Banquet for the Winners, First Runners-Up, and other Honored Works in each category (including titles of the works).

Congratulations to the Finalists and to our new Hall of Fame winner, JUSTIN CRONIN  !