2017 Darrell Awards Finalists Announced

2017 Darrell Awards Finalists Announced

The 2017 Darrell Awards Jury held its final meeting last night and we wrapped up our deliberations. It gives us great pleasure to announce the following.

The newest winner of the Dal Coger Memorial Hall of Fame Award is Cinda Williams Chima. This was given for her books The Enchanter Heir and The Sorcerer Heir, two young adult novels that include scenes set within our area. She joins a distinguished roster of previous Hall of Fame winners, which you can see here.

For Best Midsouth Short Story, our 2017 Finalists are “Drive-In Miss Daisy” by Phyllis Appleby and “The Nature of Ghosts” by Carolyn McSparren. (Both appeared in the anthology Malice in Memphis: Ghost Stories.)

For Best Midsouth Novella, our 2017 Finalists are “All the Way from Memphis” by Jeff C. Stevenson (in Hypnos, volume 5, issue 2) and “Fifty Shades of Grays” by Steven Barnes (in Lightspeed magazine, issue 73).

For Best Midsouth Other Media, our 2017 Finalists are “Crossed+ One Hundred #2” by Alan Moore and “Shinobi: Ninja Princess (issues 4 through 6)” by Martheus Wade. Both of these Other Media Finalists are comics and should be available from your usual comic book suppliers.

For Best Midsouth Novel, our 2017 Finalists are Brotherhood of the Wheel by R.S. Belcher, Eagle in Exile by Alan P. Smale, and Way Out West by Frank Tuttle.

If we have (or can find) contact information for these Finalists, they each will be invited to attend MidSouthCon on Saturday March 25th, 2017, for free to participate in a panel on the Darrell Awards to take place at 3pm AND to enjoy the Banquet at 5pm at which the Darrell Awards will be presented. For details of MidSouthCon, please see their website at midsouthcon.org.

Congratulations to all the Finalists!

Please check back here AFTER MidSouthCon to find out who won. And be sure to go now and buy their works so you can start reading them to see whether you agree with the Jury’s decisions.

Cinda Williams Chima picture

Cinda Williams Chima


2015 Darrell Awards Presented at MidSouthCon 33

It gives us great pleasure to announce that the 2015 Darrell Awards were presented at the Banquet at MidSouthCon 33 on Saturday, March 21, 2015, and here are the results!

As previously announced, Jeff Crook is the newest inductee into the Dal Coger Memorial Hall of Fame.

DREAM THIEF # 4 by Jai Nitz is the Winner of the 2015 Darrell Award for Best Midsouth SF/F/H Other Media Work. This is the first time that a comic book has won a Darrell Award (in this or any other category). Previous Other Media winners included films, plays and efiction (before the Jury started considering efiction as just fiction). 

Barry (a short film available on vimeo.com) by Matthew Graves is the First Runner Up for the 2015 Darrell Award for Best Midsouth SF/F/H Other Media Work.

The Five Faces (a Markhat novel) by Frank Tuttle won the 2015 Darrell Award for Best Midsouth SF/F/H Novel, with Valkyrie’s Daughter by John E. Siers as First Runner Up in the novel category.

Eat Your Peas by Robert J. Krog won the 2015 Darrell Award for Best Midsouth SF/F/H Short Story. This story appeared in Luna’s Children: Full Moon Mayhem

Stolen Thunder by H. David Blalock (seen in Realms of Imagination) is the 2015 First Runner Up in the short story category.

Additional Finalists in the short story category were

  • Hello I, This is H by Bill M. Tracer;
  • Thursday Morrow: The Self-Winding Mechanical Man by Robert J. Krog (seen in Capes & Clockwork); and
  • The Serpent and the Dagger by Robert J. Krog (seen in A Tall Ship, a Star, and Plunder)

As we have done in some previous years, the Jury chose not to award in the Novella category this time.

Each of the Finalists were invited to attend MidSouthCon 33 on Saturday, March 21,  to participate in a Meet the Darrell Awards Finalists Panel and offered a free ticket to the Banquet later that same day. Jai Nitz , Robert J. Krog and Jeff Crook were unable to attend; they each sent remarks, which were read at the Banquet. We were unable to contact Matthew Graves. The other Finalists responded and attended the 2015 Darrell Awards presentation.

Photos of the Plaques presented to the Winners will be posted on the Darrell Awards page on Facebook and other social media sites.

The Darrell Awards are given annually to support literacy in the greater Memphis area (the Midsouth) by recognizing the best published Science Fiction, Fantasy and/or Horror fiction. Annual categories include Novel, Novella, and Short Story. Other Media and Young Adult alternate on a 2 year cycle; this year we considered Other Media, which includes plays, audio presentations, podcasts, movies, games, comics, and other non-book and non-ebook forms of SF/F/H. In 2016, we will consider Young Adult SF/F/H. Please check back here for an announcement when the nominations for the 2016 Darrell Awards are opened.

We heartily recommend these Winners and Finalists to all those who enjoy a good story, especially to fans of Science Fiction, Fantasy and/or Horror. Now, GO BUY THEIR BOOKS AND READ THEM !