Coger Memorial Hall of Fame 2019 Winner Announced

The 2019 Darrell Awards Jury met earlier tonight and chose our next inductee into the Dal Coger Memorial Hall of Fame.

It gives us great pleasure to announce that the winner is TROY L. WIGGINS, who was chosen for his outstanding contributions to Midsouth literacy, both as a writer of SF/F/H short stories and for his role in founding Fiyah Lit Mag, a relatively-new SF/F/H magazine (now in its third year).

Mr. Wiggins joins 16 previous inductees, including Nancy Collins, Eric Flint, Justin Cronin, Howard Waldrop, and a dozen more worthies.

For more information on the Coger Memorial Hall of Fame, please see here..

In addition to choosing the Hall of Fame inductee, the Jury selected the Finalists in Best Novel, Novella, Other Media, and Short Story categories for the 2019 Darrell Awards. The list of Finalists will be released soon.

Please join us in congratulating TROY L. WIGGINS for this honor.


2018 Darrell Awards Finalists Announced

The 2018 Darrell Awards Jury held its final meeting tonight and we are pleased to announce the following Finalists.

William C. DietzSeek and Destroy

Nick RowanWild Hunt

TJ TurnerLand of Wolves

Sheila MartinConey Island Book of the Dead

John Hornor JacobsLuminaria

William Alan Webb A Night at the Quay

Phyllis Appleby – From Hair to Eternity (in Malice in Memphis: Elmwood Stories to Die For)

Richard Powell – A Very Worthy Human Being (in Malice in Memphis: Elmwood Stories to Die For)

Troy L. WigginsBlack Like Them

In addition to these Finalists, the Jury also announced that Robin Burks is our 2018 inductee to the Coger Hall of Fame for her three novel series (Zeus, Inc.; The Curse of Hekate; and Return of the Titans).

Please join us at MidSouthCon on Saturday March 10, 2018, for the Awards Banquet at which we will present the Winners and First Runners Up.

Robin Burks

Robin Burks

(This post was updated on Thursday, February 8, 2018, with active links to each of the Finalist works. Please support our Finalists by buying and reading their work. Thank you!) 

2014 Darrell Awards Winners & Other Honored Works

The 2014 Darrell Awards Jury is pleased to announce the 2014 Darrell Award winners & other honored works as presented at the Banquet at MidSouthCon 32 on Saturday, March 22, 2014.

2014 Dal Coger Memorial Hall of Fame Winner — Frank Tuttle for his Extraordinary Contributions to Midsouth Literacy for his many published works

2014 Darrell Award for Best Midsouth SF/F Novel
Winner — Someday The Stars by John E. Siers

First Runner Up: Brown River Queen by Frank Tuttle

Finalists: The Moon and Beyond by John E. Siers

The Skies Roared by Steve Bradshaw

Best Midsouth SF/F Young Adult Work

Winner — Vanished by Christina L. Holt

First Runner-Up:Sela by Jackie Gamber

Finalist: Omni by Andrea Murray

Best Midsouth SF/F Short Story
Winner — Angels in Gas Stations by Victor Lorthos (as seen in Zombie Strippers and Other Strange Words)

First Runner-Up: The Finder’s Keeper by Jason Cordova (as seen in Dreams of Steam 4: Gizmos)

Eclipse Over Elmwood by H. David Blalock (as seen in Southern Haunts)

The Bone Garden by Robert J. Krog (as seen in Ten Reasons To Cross The Moat)

The Clockwork Gunslingers by Robert J. Krog (as seen in Dreams of Steam 4: Gizmos)