2022 Darrell Awards Winners Announced

On Saturday March 26, 2022, at the Banquet at MidSouthCon 38, the following 2022 Darrell Awards were presented.

Coger Memorial Hall of Fame Award: Sheree Renée Thomas for her extraordinary contributions to literacy in the Midsouth and the world.

Sheree Renée Thomas –
Hall of Fame Award

Best Midsouth Novel:

  • Winner: Serpent’s Mark by Beth Alvarez
  • First Runner-up: The Girl Who Had No Shadows by John and Victoria Babb
  • Additional Finalists: The Ferryman by John E. Siers and The Dragons of Styx by John E. Siers
Beth Alvarez –
Best Midsouth Novel Award

Best Midsouth Novella

  • Winner: Madam and The Map: A Journey in Five Movements by Sheree Renée Thomas (in Nine Bar Blues collection)
  • First Runner-up: Shadows Before Sunrise by Melissa Olthoff (in It Takes All Kinds anthology)
Sheree Renée Thomas –
Best Midsouth Novella

Best Midsouth Short Story

  • Winner: Five-Six-Seven-Eight by James Paavola (in Lies Along the Mississippi anthology)
  • First Runner-up: Well Being by Elden Lee
  • Additional Finalists:
  • Dead Man’s Hand by Phyllis Appleby (in Lies Along the Mississippi)
  • The Orisha’s Handmaiden by Angelyn Sherrod (in Lies Along the Mississippi)
  • Never Alone by Angelyn Sherrod (in Lies Along the Mississippi)
  • Shanequa’s Blues — Or Another Shotgun Lullaby by Sheree Renée Thomas (in Nine Bar Blues)
James Paavola –
Best Midsouth Short Story

Congratulations to all the Winners, First Runners-up, and additional Finalists.

All of the honorees were present at the Awards ceremony except the Babbs and Ms Olthoff. The certificates for those 2 will be mailed to them in protective sleeves.

Please check back here shortly for a major update on the Darrell Awards. (If you were present at the Banquet, you already know what this news is. )


2020 Darrell Awards Finalists Announced

The 2020 Darrell Awards Jury has completed our reading and we have chosen works by the following authors as the Best Midsouth SF/F/H in one or more of our usual categories (novel, novella, young adult, and short story).

The 2020 Darrell Awards Finalists are:

The 2020 Darrell Awards, as well as the Coger Memorial Hall of Fame award, will be presented at the Banquet at MidSouthCon 38 on Saturday, March 21, 2020, at the Hilton hotel here in Memphis, TN. For details of the convention, please see MidSouthCon.org

Our 2020 Hall of Fame winner is Rachel E. Carr. See the announcement of that here: 2020 Hall of Fame Winner Announced

Congratulations to each of the Finalists. We highly recommend all of them to you for the excellent stories they wrote. Please join us at the Banquet at MidSouthCon 38 for the Awards Presentation.

2020 Darrell Awards Nominations Are Open

The 2020 Darrell Awards Jury met on Sunday, September 8, 2019, and rapidly got its business done. What that means is:


You can nominate using the form in any of the following formats:



2020-Nomination-Form-with-Rules-docx, or


If you need it in a different format, please let us know and we will see what we can do.

As in previous years, the Rules are attached to the Nomination Form, but you do not need to send those pages back to us — just complete the form, save page 1, and send that page back.

Please check back here for further news as it develops.

If you live in the Memphis area and would like to participate as a member of the Jury or as an Official Reader, please contact us, as we are pleased to welcome new voluteers to our ranks. (Please see our About the Darrell Awards page for email and other methods of contacting us.)