Nominations are Open — 2022 Darrell Awards

Nominations Are Now Open for the 2022 Darrell Awards

We had to skip presenting any Darrell Awards in 2021 due to the pandemic. As it now looks likely that there will be a Midsouthcon in 2022, the Jury has decided to open nominations for 2 years in all categories.

This means that we will consider your SFFH work IF it was published between November 1, 2019, and October 31, 2021.

As always, we’re looking for the best Midsouth SFFH, so if it’s by an author living in our area at the time of publication OR if at least 1 significant scene is set within our area, nominate it!

Nominations opened on August 1, 2021, and will close on December 1st of this year.

To protect the members of the jury and our Official Readers, we’re looking for digital submissions, if possible. One epub or mobi or pdf without DRM or a non-paywalled link to the work along with your nomination is greatly appreciated.

If you choose to send printed copies instead, we need at least 3 — and 4 is better.

Nomination forms can be found here in various formats: 2022 Nomination Forms. The rules are spelled out on the back page(s) of the Nomination Form.

Please note: you don’t need to send us the back page(s). All we need is the Nomination Form. We know what the Rules are. 😀

If you have any questions about these matters, please post them in the comments (or you can email us as below).

Go forth and Nominate ! Nominate! Nominate!

News on the 2022 Darrell Awards

We are pleased to announce that there will be Darrell Awards presented at MidSouthCon in March of 2022.

The 2022 Darrell Awards will include the best Midsouth science fiction, fantasy, and horror works published from November 1, 2019, to October 31, 2021 (2 full years) in all 5 of our usual categories — novel, novella, short story, other media, and young adult.

Also, our 2022 Coger Memorial Hall of Fame Award for lifetime achievement and/or exemplary contributions to literacy will be presented at the same event. Our Hall of Fame Award is not limited by year of publication.

Nominations for the 2022 Darrell Awards and Hall of Fame Award will open on August 1, 2021, and close on December 1, 2021.

Please check back here on (or just before) August 1st for nomination forms in various formats.

If you’re interested in helping us to select the 2022 Darrell Awards and Hall of Fame Award by serving on the Jury or by being an Official Reader, please contact us at darrellawards at Gmail dot com (spelled out for reasons).

Darrell Awards News

The 2020 Darrell Awards Jury met recently via Zoom and reached the following decisions.

First, on the 2020 Darrell Awards: we will announce the Winners, First Runners-Up, and other Finalists here within the next week or so. That announcement will be shared as widely as possible via social media & email.

The Winners will be given a choice of having their plaque shipped to them or waiting to pick it up in person at MidSouthCon in 2021. If we are unable to reach any of the Winners, we will default to holding their plaque to present at the con.

Certificates suitable for framing will be mailed to the First Runners-Up and other Finalists. If we don’t have (and can’t find) a mailing address for these honored authors, we will hold their certificates to present at the con.

Speaking of MidSouthCon, please check their website at for the latest news on the status of the con in 2021.

Second, on the 2021 Darrell Awards: As everyone is aware, this year has presented unusual challenges to publishing and to leisure time activities, such as reading. Due to the effects of the pandemic, the members of the Jury have had others things on our minds. We are volunteers, after all. 🤓

We have long had a practice of recognizing Young Adult or Other Media nominees on a 2 year basis. For the next cycle of the Darrell Awards, we are expanding that to include all the other categories.

What does that mean?

The 2022 Darrell Awards will cover works published from November 1, 2019 to October 31, 2021, in all our usual categories — Best Novel, Best Novella, Best Short Story, Best Young Adult Work, and Best Other Media Work.

We have not yet decided whether there will be 1 or 2 inductees into the Coger Memorial Hall of Fame in 2022. We will meet again in January to decide that, as well as set the rules for the 2022 Darrell Awards, and pick the date to open nominations.

Please check back here in February 2021 for the 2022 Darrell Awards Nomination Form.

So, the news in a nutshell: results of the 2020 Darrell Awards will be posted here within the next week or so and the 2022 nomination form will be posted by Feb 2021.

If you have questions, please feel free to email us at the address in the blue box above.