2020 Darrell Awards Winners Announced

The 2020 Darrell Awards Jury is pleased to announce the results of our deliberations and to present our Finalists, First Runners-Up, and Winners.

By Category:


First Runner-Up — Carl Perkins Cadillac by John G. Hartness

Winner — Above the Ether by Eric Barnes

Best Midsouth Novel 2020

Young Adult:

First Runner-Up — The Diminished and The Enchanted by Kaitlyn Sage Patterson

Winner — House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig

Best Midsouth Young Adult Story 2020

Novella: Winner — Shoot First by Larry Hoy and William Alan Webb

Best Midsouth Novella 2020

Short Story:

First Runner-Up — The Game by H. David Blalock (as published in Tales of the Interstellar Bartenders Guild)

Winner — Killing Him by Carolyn McSparren (as published in Mayhem in Memphis)

Best Midsouth Short Story 2020

Additional Short Story Finalists:

Robert J. Krog for Roxy Socksy and Herika Raymer for Critters (both published in Tales of the Interstellar Bartenders Guild)

(Note: We chose not to mention Larry Hoy in previous announcements about the Finalists in order to maintain a bit of a surprise about the Novella win. His name appears first on the plaque and we will send the plaque to him if we have or can find his address.)

Here are the Finalists in alphabetical order, in case that is easier for anyone.

Eric Barnes — Novel — Above the Ether (Winner)

H. David Blalock — Short Story — The Game (First Runner-Up)

Erin A. Craig – Young Adult Work – The House of Salt and Sorrows (Winner)

John G. Hartness – Novel — Carl Perkins Cadillac (First Runner-Up)

Robert J. Krog — Short Story — Roxy Socksy (published in Tales of the Interstellar Bartenders Guild)

Carolyn McSparren — Short Story — Killing Him (published in Mayhem in Memphis) (Winner)

Kaitlyn Sage Patterson — Young Adult Work — The Diminished and The Enchanted (2 book series) (First Runner-Up)

Herika Raymer — Short Story – Critters (published in Tales of the Interstellar Bartenders Guild)

William Alan Webb and Larry Hoy — Novella — Shoot First (Winner)

As previously announced, our 2020 Hall of Fame winner is Rachel E. Carr.

2020 Coger Memorial Hall of Fame
2020 Coger Memorial Hall of Fame

Due to the pandemic, the 2020 and 2021 editions of MidSouthCon were canceled.

So, please consider this announcement to be the presentation of the 2020 Darrell Awards.

We plan to present the 2021-2022 Darrell Awards at MidSouthCon in March of 2022, and we hope that circumstances will allow us to do so.

Please see the latest news on the convention on their website: MidSouthCon.org

As there won’t be a gathering of fans in 2021, we are going with our backup plan. That means that IF we have (or are able to find) an address for each Finalist, Runner-Up, or Winner, we will ship their plaque or certificate to them. For those whom we cannot locate, we will hold onto the plaques and certificates until we are able to present them in person or otherwise.

Congratulations to all of the Finalists, Runners-Up, and Winners.

Please check back here in February for news about the 2021-2022 Darrell Awards.


1 thought on “2020 Darrell Awards Winners Announced

  1. Pingback: 2020 Darrell Awards | File 770

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.