One Author responds to 2016 Darrell Awards Finalists — And Two Winners – Announced

On those days when I wonder why the members of the Darrell Awards Jury do all that we do, a post such as this comes as a very welcome reminder. We do it to encourage and support Midsouth literacy, especially in the forms of science fiction, fantasy, and horror.

Thanks, Victor Lorthos, for letting us know that the encouragement is working.

Victor Lorthos

I am filled with enjoyment this morning.

My short story, Zedhead, from “Alien Hookers and Other Strange Words” has been announced as a Finalist for a Darrell Award at this year’s MidSouthCon. This is the third time I’ve been a Finalist for a Darrell Award and it is still a huge thrill to make the cut. I will be doing various panels at the Con (more on that in a separate post) and attending the Awards Banquet on Saturday to find out which of the four short story finalists has won. I wish everybody the best of luck, and am truly honored to be here.

The Darrell Awards were begun in 1995 to support and recognize Midsouth sci-fi, fantasy, and horror literature. I cannot say enough good things about these folks. I  have been fortunate to win two awards for short stories previously and it is an enormous help…

View original post 161 more words

This entry was posted in News by Tim Gatewood. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tim Gatewood

55+, male, widowed (May 2016). Mobile notary public and signing agent, freelance writer, and ordained minister. Science fiction and fantasy fan, willing servant to cats, avid reader and collector of books and other stuff. Please see my websites (including this blog and others) for more info on me and what I think about the issues of the day.

Leave a Reply

