2015 Darrell Awards Finalists Announced

The 2015 Darrell Awards Jury completed its work earlier tonight and turned in the following list of Finalists for the 2015 Darrell Awards.

The Darrell Awards are given annually to support literacy in the greater Memphis area (the Midsouth) by recognizing the best published Science Fiction, Fantasy and/or Horror fiction. Annual categories include Novel, Novella, and Short Story. Other Media and Young Adult alternate on a 2 year cycle; this year we considered Other Media, which includes plays, audio presentations, podcasts, movies, games, comics, and other non-book and non-ebook forms of SF/F/H. As we have done in some previous years, the Jury chose not to award in the Novella category this time.

The Finalists are:

The Five Faces by Frank Tuttle (Novel)

Valkyrie’s Daughter by John E. Siers (Novel)

Dream Thief # 4 by Jai Nitz (Other Media; book 4 of 5 in comic book series)

Barry by Matthew Graves (Other Media; a free online film)

Eat Your Peas by Robert J. Krog (Short Story seen in Luna’s Children: Full Moon Mayhem)

Hello I, This is H by Bill M. Tracer (Short Story)

Stolen Thunder by H. David Blalock (Short Story seen in Realms of Imagination)

The Serpent and the Dagger by Robert J. Krog (Short Story seen in A Tall Ship, a Star, and Plunder) and

Thursday Morrow: The Self-Winding Mechanical Man by Robert J. Krog (Short Story seen in Capes & Clockwork) .

In addition to the 2015 Darrell Awards Finalists, the Jury has previously announced that the 2015 Dal Coger Memorial Hall of Fame Winner is Jeff Crook.

Each of the authors listed above will be contacted as soon as possible to invite them to attend MidSouthCon 33 on Saturday, March 21 as a free guest of the Jury so that they can participate in the Meet the Darrell Awards Authors panel and enjoy the Banquet later that same day, at which time the Winners and Runners-Up will be bestowed.

Congratulations to the Finalists!  Now, go buy their works!

This entry was posted in Events - Calendar, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , by Darrell Awards. Bookmark the permalink.

About Darrell Awards

The Darrell Awards are presented annually in support of Midsouth Literacy by recognizing the best published Science Fiction, Fantasy and/or Horror in Short Story, Novella, Novel, Young Adult and Other Media formats. Our related Dal Coger Memorial Hall of Fame Award is given for an author who has made exceptional contributions to Midsouth Literacy by having published a substantial body of work that is or would have been eligible for the Darrell Award. The Darrell Awards and the Coger Hall of Fame award are presented at MidSouthCon, held in March of each year in the Memphis, Tennessee area. Please see the entries and pages on this blog, as well as any files linked from here for more information. You can also find us on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Darrell-Awards/147521910015 and on Twitter at @darrellawards.

One thought on “2015 Darrell Awards Finalists Announced

  1. Pingback: Darrell Award Finalist! | The Dark Oak Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s