2012 Darrell Awards Honored Works

The 2012 Darrell Awards Jury is pleased to announce the Winners, First Runners Up and other Honored Works for Best Midsouth SF/F/H work in their respective categories.

Best Midsouth Young Adult SF/F/H Work:

  • Starlighter by Bryan Davis – Winner and
  • All the Paths of Shadow
    by Frank Tuttle – First Runner Up

Best Midsouth SF/F/H Short Story:

  • Of Heroes and Airships
    by Victor Lorthos (in Dreams of Steam II) — Winner and
  • The Adjudication of Hetty Green by Allan Gilbreath¬†(in Lawyers In Hell) – First Runner Up.
  • Other Finalists for Best Midsouth Short Story include
    Allan Gilbreath for The Locked Door (in Dreams of Steam II);
    Jackie Gamber for Permanent Residence (in parAbnormal Digest); and
    Laura H. Smith for Winnet’s Octavion (in Dreams of Steam II)

Best Midsouth SF/F/H Novella:

  • Aaron Christopher Drown for Path of an Arrow — Winner and
  • H. David Blalock for High Kings — First Runner Up.

Best Midsouth SF/F/H Novel:

  • John Hornor Jacobs for Southern Gods; — Winner &
  • Mira Grant (Seanan McGuire) for Deadline — First Runner Up.
  • Our additional Finalist for Best Midsouth Novel is Jeaniene Frost for This Side of the Grave;

    Each Finalist was invited to attend MidSouthCon 30 on Sat. March 24 for the Banquet, at which the winners, first runners up & other finalists recognition were presented.

    SEANAN MCGUIRE (Mira Grant) was inducted into the Coger Memorial Hall of Fame at the Banquet in absentia, as she was out of town at another convention.

This entry was posted in History and tagged , , , , , , by Darrell Awards. Bookmark the permalink.

About Darrell Awards

The Darrell Awards are presented annually in support of Midsouth Literacy by recognizing the best published Science Fiction, Fantasy and/or Horror in Short Story, Novella, Novel, Young Adult and Other Media formats. Our related Dal Coger Memorial Hall of Fame Award is given for an author who has made exceptional contributions to Midsouth Literacy by having published a substantial body of work that is or would have been eligible for the Darrell Award. The Darrell Awards and the Coger Hall of Fame award are presented at MidSouthCon, held in March of each year in the Memphis, Tennessee area. Please see the entries and pages on this blog, as well as any files linked from here for more information. You can also find us on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Darrell-Awards/147521910015 and on Twitter at @darrellawards.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s