2020 Darrell Awards Winners Announced

The 2020 Darrell Awards Jury is pleased to announce the results of our deliberations and to present our Finalists, First Runners-Up, and Winners.

By Category:


First Runner-Up — Carl Perkins Cadillac by John G. Hartness

Winner — Above the Ether by Eric Barnes

Best Midsouth Novel 2020

Young Adult:

First Runner-Up — The Diminished and The Enchanted by Kaitlyn Sage Patterson

Winner — House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig

Best Midsouth Young Adult Story 2020

Novella: Winner — Shoot First by Larry Hoy and William Alan Webb

Best Midsouth Novella 2020

Short Story:

First Runner-Up — The Game by H. David Blalock (as published in Tales of the Interstellar Bartenders Guild)

Winner — Killing Him by Carolyn McSparren (as published in Mayhem in Memphis)

Best Midsouth Short Story 2020

Additional Short Story Finalists:

Robert J. Krog for Roxy Socksy and Herika Raymer for Critters (both published in Tales of the Interstellar Bartenders Guild)

(Note: We chose not to mention Larry Hoy in previous announcements about the Finalists in order to maintain a bit of a surprise about the Novella win. His name appears first on the plaque and we will send the plaque to him if we have or can find his address.)

Here are the Finalists in alphabetical order, in case that is easier for anyone.

Eric Barnes — Novel — Above the Ether (Winner)

H. David Blalock — Short Story — The Game (First Runner-Up)

Erin A. Craig – Young Adult Work – The House of Salt and Sorrows (Winner)

John G. Hartness – Novel — Carl Perkins Cadillac (First Runner-Up)

Robert J. Krog — Short Story — Roxy Socksy (published in Tales of the Interstellar Bartenders Guild)

Carolyn McSparren — Short Story — Killing Him (published in Mayhem in Memphis) (Winner)

Kaitlyn Sage Patterson — Young Adult Work — The Diminished and The Enchanted (2 book series) (First Runner-Up)

Herika Raymer — Short Story – Critters (published in Tales of the Interstellar Bartenders Guild)

William Alan Webb and Larry Hoy — Novella — Shoot First (Winner)

As previously announced, our 2020 Hall of Fame winner is Rachel E. Carr.

2020 Coger Memorial Hall of Fame
2020 Coger Memorial Hall of Fame

Due to the pandemic, the 2020 and 2021 editions of MidSouthCon were canceled.

So, please consider this announcement to be the presentation of the 2020 Darrell Awards.

We plan to present the 2021-2022 Darrell Awards at MidSouthCon in March of 2022, and we hope that circumstances will allow us to do so.

Please see the latest news on the convention on their website: MidSouthCon.org

As there won’t be a gathering of fans in 2021, we are going with our backup plan. That means that IF we have (or are able to find) an address for each Finalist, Runner-Up, or Winner, we will ship their plaque or certificate to them. For those whom we cannot locate, we will hold onto the plaques and certificates until we are able to present them in person or otherwise.

Congratulations to all of the Finalists, Runners-Up, and Winners.

Please check back here in February for news about the 2021-2022 Darrell Awards.

Darrell Awards News

The 2020 Darrell Awards Jury met recently via Zoom and reached the following decisions.

First, on the 2020 Darrell Awards: we will announce the Winners, First Runners-Up, and other Finalists here within the next week or so. That announcement will be shared as widely as possible via social media & email.

The Winners will be given a choice of having their plaque shipped to them or waiting to pick it up in person at MidSouthCon in 2021. If we are unable to reach any of the Winners, we will default to holding their plaque to present at the con.

Certificates suitable for framing will be mailed to the First Runners-Up and other Finalists. If we don’t have (and can’t find) a mailing address for these honored authors, we will hold their certificates to present at the con.

Speaking of MidSouthCon, please check their website at http://MidSouthCon.org for the latest news on the status of the con in 2021.

Second, on the 2021 Darrell Awards: As everyone is aware, this year has presented unusual challenges to publishing and to leisure time activities, such as reading. Due to the effects of the pandemic, the members of the Jury have had others things on our minds. We are volunteers, after all. 🤓

We have long had a practice of recognizing Young Adult or Other Media nominees on a 2 year basis. For the next cycle of the Darrell Awards, we are expanding that to include all the other categories.

What does that mean?

The 2022 Darrell Awards will cover works published from November 1, 2019 to October 31, 2021, in all our usual categories — Best Novel, Best Novella, Best Short Story, Best Young Adult Work, and Best Other Media Work.

We have not yet decided whether there will be 1 or 2 inductees into the Coger Memorial Hall of Fame in 2022. We will meet again in January to decide that, as well as set the rules for the 2022 Darrell Awards, and pick the date to open nominations.

Please check back here in February 2021 for the 2022 Darrell Awards Nomination Form.

So, the news in a nutshell: results of the 2020 Darrell Awards will be posted here within the next week or so and the 2022 nomination form will be posted by Feb 2021.

If you have questions, please feel free to email us at the address in the blue box above.

News on 2020 Darrell Awards

As the Darrell Awards have been presented at MidSouthCon every year (except the 1 year there was no con) and as this year’s MidSouthCon has been postponed due to the COVID19 pandemic, the question has been raised :

What About the 2020 Darrell Awards?

First, they will be given.

Second, the Winners and Runners-up and other Finalists will be announced here and on other social media.

Third, the details of how and when for the above will be decided by the Jury shortly.

We want to have a robust discussion on this situation with an eye toward establishing a protocol for future use — and to do so while respecting the requirements of social distancing.

So, please be patient. And please check back here in a day or two.

If you have questions, email us.